Selection of editorial board and editors


Editorial board 

Members of the editorial board are experts on Translation and Interpreting Studies of international renown and of established scholarly standing (formally qualified as professors, docents or the equivalent thereof). The combined expertise of the members of the editorial board should cover the different areas and trends within Translation and Interpreting Studies as extensively as possible. The members should also include a representative from each of the Finnish universities involved in organising the KäTu Symposia.

Members of the editorial board are selected for a three-year term. In the years 2015–2018, the editorial board was elected by the Teachers’ and Researchers’ Section of the Finnish Association of Translators and Interpreters (SKTL). The members for the term 2018 - 2021 were elected in consultation with the previous editorial board.


Each volume of MikaEL has three to four editors. They represent the universities organising the KäTu Symposia, and the majority of them are required to have completed a PhD. To ensure the continued quality of editorial work, only one of the editors is replaced each year.